Jill Borst Memorial Trophy 
Jill Borst: 23 March 1962 - 18 January 2004
Jill Borst died tragically in a paragliding accident in Bright, Victoria, Australia, on Sunday 18 January 2004

Jill’s tragic accident sent shock waves through the New Zealand paragliding community-  there could be few active pilots whose lives hadn’t been touched by Jill at some time. 

Jill pushed the boundaries of women’s paragliding, and in a few short years became indisputably the best woman pilot in Australasia. 

To celebrate Jill's life and contribution to paragliding a memorial trophy will be awarded annually at the NZ Nationals to a New Zealand paraglider pilot (female or male) who has done the most to advance the sport. This could be by flying a record distance, doing well in competitions either in NZ or abroad, being an ‘ambassador’ for the sport, or working
to promote the sport behind the scenes.

Nominations will be received annually by the National Paragliding Competition Committee.

Annual trophy nominations are requested to be received prior to each year's Nationals by email to Andy Maloney or by submitting information via the nomination form.

The recipient of the Jill Borst Memorial Trophy will be decided by the outgoing Paragliding Competition Committee and announced prize giving of the Paragliding Nationals.

The recipients:

2005  Dominic Eller

2006​  Grant Middendorf

2007​  Mark Hardman - for services to competition​ organisation

2008​  Kat West - for services to competition ​organisation

2009​  Tim Percival - for services to cross-country                       record keeping        

2010  Kris Ericksen - for service to competition organisation and fund-raising

2011​  Grey Hamilton and Rob van den Ham                            - in recognition of their exploits in Pakistan        

2012  Jeff Ripley - for outstanding XC flights and achievement at national and international competitions

2013​  Evan Lamberton - for service to competition

2014 Bryan Moore - trail-blazing XC flights

​2015  Nick Neynens - record breaking XC flights in NZ

2016  Nick Neynens and Louis Tapper - first NZ team to participate in the X-Alps.  Nick came 10th 

2017  Nick Taber - services to NZHGPA re: airspace

2018 Johnny Hopper - for services to competition​ organisation

2019 Wayne Rohrs - for services to competition organisation

2020 Kinga Masztalerz - XC flights and X-Alps participation

2021 Mark MacDonald - for services to club flying

2022 Blake Round - for services to flying